Cafeteria Confessions

I walked around the cafeteria looking at each station; checking what eat dish had in it. Most everything had soybeans, gluten or some sort of milk in it. Over the years there has been a lot of speculation about processed foods and how they affect our diet and how they affect us nutritionally. I’m curious as to why the government hasn’t made an impactful effort to decrease the processing of foods and increase the more organically made products. Personally I have allergies to all sorts of processed foods: corn, gluten, soy and even milk and dairy products. Because of my allergies, it make it almost impossible to eat in the cafeteria at school and even at restaurants because most places cook with soybean oil, or even vegetable oil which is sometimes made out of soybeans. Is it possible for food places to use more natural products to cook; for example, instead of vegetable oil, they could use olive oil. Not only is olive oil more of a natural product, but it’s also proven to be healthier for the human diet. I also noticed as I sat in the cafeteria, how much food people wasted. As I watched people leave their tables, the plates they were taking away were sometimes half or even completely full. I astounded me as to how much we waste when we aren’t the people making the food. I wonder why people don’t take just one less plate of food, because then they wouldn’t be wasting that food, someone else would just take it and eat the whole thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Cafeteria Confessions

  1. You ask good questions. The answers are probably found by following the money trail.

Leave a comment